More than 25 years of competition and excitement

The Presidents Cup began in 1994, with a competition held at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA. Through the 25-plus-year journey, the world's best players have come together to compete for team, country and the honor of raising the Presidents Cup trophy.


The U.S. Team won the 14th Presidents Cup, defeating the International Team by a 17.5-12.5 margin at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, North Carolina. The Americans improved to 12-1-1 all-time in the biennial competition, remaining undefeated on home soil at 8-0-0. Entering Sunday Singles with an 11-7 advantage over the International Team, Captain Davis Love III’s squad weathered an early opposing surge with consistent play across the board in front of the event’s largest crowd in history.


The magic in Melbourne inspired what could be considered as the most exciting Presidents Cup in history at The Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. In an historic effort, the Captain Ernie Els-led Internationals to the lead on Day 1 by a wide margin. After fighting back through 3 sessions, the Captain Tiger Woods-led United States team edged the Internationals in a Sunday singles comeback.


For the first time in the event's history, three former U.S. Presidents and the current U.S. President were on site for the 2017 Presidents Cup, held at Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City, New Jersey. The International team welcomed Captain Nick Price back for a third term, while the U.S. team was led by Steve Stricker. Following the four-day competition on the banks of the Hudson River, the U.S. team claimed victory with a 19-11 margin.


The 2015 Presidents Cup was contested in Songdo, IBD, Incheon City, South Korea, at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea. The U.S. Team was led by Jay Haas and at the helm of the International Team was two-time captain Nick Price. The U.S. Team clinched the final point on the final hole to win 15.5 to 14.5. The Honorary Chairwoman of the event was Korean President Park Guen-Hye.


The 2013 Presidents Cup welcomed the 44th U.S. President Barack Obama as Honorary Chairman of the event for a second time, the only world leader to hold that distinction more than once. The event teed off at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Columbus, Ohio, USA. Fred Couples and Nick Price assumed captains' duties for the U.S. Team and the International Team, respectively. In the end, it was the U.S. Team's cup to keep after a decisive 18.5-15.5 victory.


In 2011, the Presidents Cup descended upon The Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, for the second time in the event’s history, offering a 2009 rematch of defending champions, U.S. Team Captain Fred Couples against an International Team once again led by Greg Norman. Ultimately, the U.S. Team retained the Cup with a wire-to-wire 19-15 decision with Jim Furyk delivering a perfect 5-0-0 record to solidify the finish. Prime Minister of Australia, Julia Gillard, served as Honorary Chairwoman, marking the first time in event history a woman held the role.


The 2009 Presidents Cup showcased a U.S. Team led by Fred Couples defeating the International Team captained by Greg Norman, with Tiger Woods having one of the most memorable appearances in tournament history with a 5-0-0 record and leading the U.S. Team to victory by a margin of 19.5-14.5. The Cup was contested at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, California and welcomed the 44th President of the United States, Barack Obama as the Honorary Chairman.


The 2007 Presidents Cup marked the third and final time legendary captains Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player would lead the U.S. and International Teams, respectively. The Prime Minister of Canada Stephen Harper served as the Honorary Chairman for the event held in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, at The Royal Montreal Golf Club. In the end, the United States would retain the cup after a 19.5-14.5 score.


The 2005 Presidents Cup crowned a Jack Nicklaus-led United States Team champions with an 18.5-15.5 decision over a Gary Player-led International Team. Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA, hosted the event for the fourth time in the competition's history and the 43rd President of the United States, George W. Bush, acted as the Honorary Chairman.


The 2003 Presidents Cup ventured to George, South Africa, for the first time, fittingly, as the nation is home to Gary Player, who led the International Team for the first time that year in a contest against Jack Nicklaus' United States Team. The host venue, The Links at Fancourt Hotel and Country Club Estate, saw the first tie in Presidents Cup history, and the Republic of South Africa President Thabo Mbeki served as the Honorary Chairman.


The 2000 Presidents Cup was the end of an era for the International Team as they followed the leadership of three-time captain Peter Thomson for the final time. Ken Venturi led the U.S. Team in the event held at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA. The 42nd President of the United States, William Jefferson Clinton, acted as the Honorary Chairman for the event, which crowned the U.S. Team victors in decisive fashion, 21.5-10.5.


The 1998 Presidents Cup was one of victory for the International Team under the direction of Peter Thomson. For the first time in the event's history, the Internationals defeated the United States Team and Jack Nicklaus, who was serving as captain for the first of four terms, 20.5 to 11.5 in the second-largest margin of victory in the cup's history. The Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, hosted the event for the first time, and Prime Minister of Australia John Howard was appointed the Honorary Chairman.

Inserting image...


The 1996 Presidents Cup reigned as the closest score - aside from 2003's tie - until 2015. With Arnold Palmer at the helm, the United States Team edged Peter Thomson's International Team 16.5-15.5 at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA. The Honorary Chairman for the event was the 41st United States President, George H.W. Bush.


The 1994 Presidents Cup was the first in the event's illustrious history. Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA, welcomed the 38th President of the United States, Gerald R. Ford, as Honorary Chairman, and World Golf Hall of Fame members Hale Irwin (United States Team) and David Graham (International Team) as team captains. The U.S. Team was the first to etch its name onto the cup after winning the inaugural event, 20-12.